Skip to main content

Supporting leaders of color throughout their nonprofit careers.

Investing in Emerging Leaders of Color

To combat the sizable racial leadership gap in the nonprofit sector, Tipping Point is committed to investing in equitable organizational practices and leadership offerings that support emerging leaders of color across our grantee network. The Emerging Leaders program was designed to support mid-level leaders of color in their individual leadership and career development, with the long-term goals of having more people of color represented in senior leadership roles and developing a network of equity-centered leaders.

Talent + DEI

Through this program, we have invested in helping our grantees to improve their diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) practices. Key investments include connecting grantees with experts to support the development and implementation of DEI assessments, and implementing a portfolio-wide compensation and equity study to increase pay equity.

Leadership Development

In addition, we support leadership development opportunities for grantee staff of color across multiple stages of their career paths by funding participation in programs such as Venture Leadership Collective’s Venture Leadership Academy and Surge Institute’s Oakland Fellowship.

Reflections from Moneek Bhanot, Program Participant

Moneek reflects on leading in turbulent times during the 2020 pandemic, as a grantee leader and member of Tipping Point’s Emerging Leaders program.

Participating Fellows

2020 Alumni

Moneek Bhanot

Daryl Bright

Kevin Brown

Manny Duenas

Atziry Gutierrez

Mary Hill

Rey Javier

Khadeeja Mirza

Antonio Moreno

Bernadine Posadas

Miranda Shepherd

2019 Alumni

Morgan Amituanai

Trevor Arceneaux

Shellena Eskridge

Daniel Hagos

Lakisha Hoffman

Ana Lugo

Maribel Sainez

Marcus Savage

Jamie Schecter

Lara Sidhu

Ron Thomas

Katherine Zepeda

2018 Alumni

Ligeia Barajas-Garcia

Vincent Cabada

David Edwards

Chayla Gibson

Laronette Perry

Carla Roberts

Nii Sai Sai

Joel St. Julien

Crystal Talitonu-Naea

Marcela Trujano